Guestbook

Hello Everyone,

My name is John Ecko and I create visual poetry, also referred to as concrete poetry.   I am still feeling my way around this site so thank you in advance for your patience.  In the meantime, above is an example of what I do.  Please feel free to comment on any of my works and let me know what you think. 

If anyone else out there dabbles in concrete poetry and would like to post and promote their works here, please contact me on this thread to work out the details.   This place is open for all discussion, sharing and promoting on visual poetry and I would love to hear from you. 

Thanks for stopping by,

ecko.

UPDATED 2/09/09

A Little Bit About Me:

I have been writing poetry of one form or another since early 1990. My early work was an undisciplined form of free verse that I used to keep my mind and heart on the same page. Later, I began to study all traditional methods of poetry from the sonnet to the villanelle. I grew quite fond of many french forms of poetry.

Robert Frost is one of my earliest influences. He showed me through poetry that once you learn the art and get a good grasp of things such as iambic pentameter, rhyme and rhythm, you can expand upon them. Not so much as breaking the rules, but bending them with the ultimate goal of reaching a place where the rules no longer apply.

I discovered concrete or visual poetry on accident. I came across the famous calligramer, Guillaume Apollinaire, and became fascinated by his use of word and visual messages and began to try if for myself. I began using my mind as a photographer of emotions, and simply captured images and combined them with words until I too discovered the knack for concrete poetry, or in my case, shape poetry.

This collection of visual poetry I’ve created is the result of a lot of hard work and fusion of all that I’ve learned and seen in my mind’s eye, and this experience has taken me on a journey of self discovery this last year.

What I like most about this form of poetry is that it pushes the edges of poetry and forces it to expand and destory the boxes of thought that some would try to contain it in. I believe all good poetry should strive to do this while maintaining the heart and mind of the individual through expression.

Thanks for listening,
ecko.

Please sign in here, leave a message or tell me a little about yourself .

18 Responses to “Guestbook”

  1. Hello Mr. John,

    WOW… a very impressive website. I enjoyed viewing and reading
    your work. You are blessed with a unique talent. I am glad you
    posted this via Helium, it is a great opportunity to view your work!
    Excellent work John; a pleasure to see. It is really quite captivating.

    Thank you for sharing and for the invitation to your fascinating site.
    Keep up the great work

    Nancy

  2. Thank you Nancy.

    This has been a fun ride so far. Hopefully I can find some other folks that dabble in this arena and promote their works here, thus generating more support for visual poetry. It would be my hope for a revival of sorts 🙂

    ecko.

  3. I’m really liking what I see here, mister ecko – I’m so excited to see more people working in different genres and media similar to what I go for, and your pieces are on an exceptionally high plane – lots of work and love went into those pieces and I can’t wait to see more!

    Zachary

  4. Zachary,

    Thanks for stopping by and I am glad you enjoyed the visuals.

    ecko.

  5. John –
    got your comment and I appreciate it very much – you are welcome to post any of my work that you like on eckovision – I’m starting to post more visual works as I’m refining them, though I still have some non-visual poetry up as well.

    Zachary

  6. matangmanok Says:

    John,

    You’ve been an amazing friend from the start. Now you’ve topped that with this brave leap into the publishing world — print and blog. Congratulations! I will keep visiting!

    Jim

  7. Thanks Jim.

    I don’t seem to have the knack for this blog business as well as you. You seem to be writing continuously on yours. One day I will have more to say I suppose…lol.

    John

  8. matangmanok Says:

    John (superhero secret identity to remain secret),

    Most of the time it feels like talking to yourself in the mirror. You know how to do that, right? Actually, I never did that. I’d be terrified if I did — not the talking bit, but the seeing what unrecognizable creature stares back at me. Yes, me. Hahahaha.

    Jim

  9. Jim,

    Save the cheerleader, save the world…lol. So I have multiple personalities and you talk to yourself in the mirror. What a strange lot we poets come from…How does your one sleeve jacket fit you by the way? Mine’s a little tight…lol.

  10. matangmanok Says:

    You do mean the jacket with extra long sleeves that go winding around your body, right?

    Ever heard of Fernando Pessoa? 🙂

  11. Yes and Fernando Pessoa? Which one?…lol. I think we shared a padded room somewhere briefly. We as in I and his other him or was it, the other me and his other I?…lol. I am grateful that I am only 2 for 3 is a crowd…lol.

  12. matangmanok Says:

    John,

    You are starting to sound like someone I know. Don’t ask me who. I am not at liberty to reveal secret identities.

    Reading up on more Adam Zagajewski and Wislawa Szymborska. The coffee house where we met is becoming less inviting as the days pass, so these other writings are getting more of my attention.

    Keep well.

    Jim

  13. very cool works ecko. very concrete concrete.

  14. Thanks for stopping by breathenoah. Glad you enjoyed the visuals 🙂

  15. hello, your works are really great!

    if you would like to participate in our little anthology of poemic strips, you are more than welcome! I know you are a pro, but anyway, I couldn’t stop myself from inviting you.

    • Thanks for stopping by pszren. I’m not anything but a guy who’s developed a knack for these shape poems. I’ll be sure to stop by and check out your poemic strips 🙂

      ecko

  16. Amy Alday Says:

    Dear Mr. Ecko,
    My name is Amy Peterson and I am a Master’s student at Pacific Oaks College. I am writing my thesis on Coulrophobia and I would be honored if I can have your written permission to use your wonderful poem in my literature review. I believe it would only enhance my thesis and since it is so impressive, I need to ask you to please allow me to use it. My personal email address is ***** and I would be so happy if you would please let me add such an impressive work of art within my thesis. Please contact me as soon as you possibly can. I thank you for your time and pray you allow me to do this. It will only enhance my paper.
    Thank you again for your time and I look very forward to hearing from you
    Much Respect,
    Amy Alday

    • Hello, Amy

      I’m sorry about the late reply. I’ve been off the site for some time working on other writing endeavors. I’m sorry to say, that at this time, I only allow permission for my poems to be used for online purposes only, providing I am credited for my work. “Fear of Clowns” is a published work from my book “Signs of Life” and I am not comfortable allowing anyone else to publish my works in any paper format, let alone signing documents of any kind. Since I’m responding so late, it probably doesn’t matter at this point. Again, sorry for the late response and if your thesis had been for online purposes, I could’ve been more accomodating. Thanks for your interest in my work.

      ecko.

Leave a comment